Bank Negara Malaysia’s (BNM) Payment Card Reform Framework (PCRF) – Interchange Fee


Interchange Fee Adjustment for Domestic Payment Card Transactions

Further to the domestic payment card transactions interchange fee introduced from 1 July 2015, the credit card interchange fee (IF) ceiling is adjusted as follow effective 1 January 2019 :-

Card Type Interchange Fee
Domestic Credit* 0.675%
International Scheme Debit** 0.21% or 70 Sen + 0.01% (whichever is lower)
Domestic Debit*** 0.14% or 50 Sen + 0.01% (whichever is lower)
UnionPay*# Credit : 0.575% [80 Sen (Max. for Petrol)]
Debit : 0.21% or 70 Sen + 0.01% (whichever is lower) [58 Sen (Max. for Petrol)]

*Excluding Government Sector Transaction/ # Excluding Charity Transactions
**Exclude Visa Debit for Electronic Fee Program @ 0.15% or MYR 0.50 + 0.01% (Whichever is lower) effective 18 May 2019
***MyDebit Interchange Fee effective 1 June 2019

The Interchange Fee can also be accessed at the following web site :-

Payment Operator URL Address
Visa International
MasterCard Worldwide
MyDebit/ E-Debit
UnionPay International


The current Merchant Discount Rates (MDRs) enjoyed have taken into account the revision to the domestic interchange fee based on the current sales volume generated and other variable cost involved in the process.

Subsequent changes to the domestic interchange fee would be reflected at the respective payment card network websites.